Expectation and Hope

The moment we stop listening,
stop expecting,
stop hoping,
stop waiting on the Lord,
a door is closed.

Expectation and Hope

The Lord is righteous is all His ways, gracious in all His works. The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him in truth. He WILL fulfill the desire of those who fear Him; He also will hear their cry and save them. The eyes of all look expectantly to You. And You give them their food in due season. You open Your hand and satisfy the desire of every living thing! (Ps 145:17-19, 16)

Father, today I declare once again that YOU are my Source. Life. Delight. You are here now, and I choose to wait on You. Every burdan and concern I surrender to You, who is more than able. And whether or not I feel like giving praise, I choose to lift up Your name and give thanks, because You are worthy! You are good and faithful, so I hope in You and all You’ve promised. I lean forward in eager expectation because I know there is life in Your voice, in each word. Despite all that calls for my mind’s attention and soul’s affection, my eyes are set on You. Resting here. Simply being Yours.

In a world full of brokenness and pain, I don’t want to passively sit on the side-lines, numb and jaded by the busy-ness and pleasures of life. If I’m asleep, there will be nothing to give, no power to heal, no love or words of life to offer. Some days it feels more beneficial to skip spending time with You, and move onto everything on the to-do list. But really, that just cuts out life from life…which really defeats the purpose of living and of being here. Father, You created us to be full of Your fullness! And You have given us everything that pertains to life and godliness! You have made us Your own children and filled us with your Holy Spirit to comfort, guide and help each day…each moment! You’ve declared heaven as our home and sent us out as ambassadors, to bring hope and healing wherever we go.

In light of remembering all this,
remembering who You are,

I will continue listening.
continue expecting.
continue hoping.
continue waiting on You.

IMG_1684

This I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness! “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” He is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. (Lam 3:21-25)

Leave a Reply

