Thoughts and Questions: Why?

Before going to sleep last night, I wrote some thoughts down in my journal.. not realizing all the magnitude of pain, hurting and questioning that would rise the following morning.. yet the promise still remains. And so I thought I would share this here too. 

Humanity is plagued by questions.

Which makes complete sense, being that we have brains, and there is so much more than we understand…

Yet many of the questions of past years have now disappeared.

They weren’t answered, at least not in the way I expected.

They were forgotten. Discarded. Replaced with different questions.

Maybe many of the questions that  pull at my curiosity now, won’t matter so much later on either..

at least not in the same way.

Because the deeper I come to know God,

The more I see and experience His justice, His grace,

My heart shifts, my frame of mind rearranges…

I realize that it is my own ignorance and pride often serves as a foundation for many of these nagging questions..

And in my foolishness, I place them right in-between myself and the One who fully knows and loves me..

Then suddenly, humbled by His holiness, His beauty, His glory..

I hear the voices of those who continuously fall at His throne, praising Him day and night, saying “Holy Holy Holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come.”

In His presence, everything else crumbles.

While there is much that I wonder about, I DO know that my Heavenly Father is a God overflowing with love and grace. His wisdom and understanding is perfect and complete. Not understanding everything, but knowing that the One who does is faithful and good – There’s peace in that place. We can rest in Him.

And the incredible thing is that even when we step away from Him and question, why, why, why..

He is here.

Ready to pour out His love and grace upon the one that says yes, yes, yes, I trust You.

Even when nothing seems to make sense.

We put our hope in the Lord. He is our help and our shield. In Him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in His holy name. Let your unfailing love surround us Lord, for our hope is in You alone. (Psalms 33)

Leave a Reply

