Where is home?

Where is home? Is it where you spend your childhood? Is it the places you spend the most time and grow to love? Is home being together with your family?  Where is home for those who have no family or a place to live?

As God speaks and leads us through life, no matter how close or far we go, we will always be at home as we walk with Him. There is no better place to be than in the center of God’s will. When I left my hometown to go to Rhema in Broken Arrow, OK, and then on to Augustana College in Sioux Falls, all along I was at home! And now it seems that I’m farther away than ever, over the ocean and in a foreign city of cobblestone streets, grand arched entrances and red rooftops, yet even still, I’m at home. =)

But home is much bigger than a geographical location. Places change. Circumstances change. People change. We change. Everything changes, but God remains constant. His Kingdom, heaven, is unshakable. And this is our home! He is our Father, and we are His children. (Rom 8:15-17) The moment you were born again, you were raised and seated with Christ in heavenly places! (Eph 2:6) Even though right now my physical body sits in the kitchen of our apartment here in Florence, my heart, my spirit, is at home in Him, wrapped in His presence and love.

And there is such a peace and joy! We can rest here, knowing fully that the same grace that brought us here will also sustain and carry us through ever struggle and trial that may come. And they come, but He is a faithful Father. He will never leave or forsake His children. The words He speaks will stand forever. He is always here!

I’ve slowly been adjusting to the pace of life here in Florence; soaking in it’s rich culture of art and history; learning how to cook Italian food (yay!); getting to know other students, tourists, musicians and vendors; weaving through clusters of dazed observers who stand with a camera in one hand and a map in the other. Still every now and then I have to pause to wonder with amazement: “This is Florence, Italy. Is this a dream? Is this real? How did I get here?” Never once before did I imagine or even desire to come to this place, but God placed this dream in my heart, I blinked, and now here we are!

      

      

      

…and what will tomorrow hold? I’m not really sure of the details, but I do know that God will bring everything together. As we put Him first, seek and draw close to Him, rest and abide in His love for us, He will bring deeper into His heart, from glory to glory…

Home is not on the ground we walk upon here in life, but in holding the hand of the One who leads us forward <3

Leave a Reply

